To reach JWHA leadership and/or committee members, please contact us.

See also:

Executive Committee

President (2023-2024)   Kyle Walker Rexburg, ID
President-Elect (2023-2024)   Mark Staker Salt Lake City, UT
Immediate Past President (2023-2024)   Casey Griffiths Saratoga Springs, UT
Executive Director   Cheryle Grinter Independence, MO
Treasurer (2021-2027)   Robert Cook Macomb, IL

Board of Directors

2022-2025   Ryan Sargent
Finance Committee
Pocatello, ID
2023-2026   Sally Cook Roth
Membership Chair
Overland Park, KS
2023-2024   Matt Harris
MHA Liaison
Pueblo West, CO
2023-2026   Magen Edvalson
Social Media
Silverton, OR
2022-2025   Jason Smith
Podcast Liaison
Duncan, OK
2023-2025   Eric Rogers
Awards Chair
Salt Lake City, UT
2023-2024   Susan Staker
JW Books Liaison
Langley, WA

Conference and Scholarship Committee

Chair   Mark Staker Salt Lake City, UT
Co-Chair   Rachel Killebrew Independence, MO
Members   Scott Esplin
Brian Hales
Makoto Hunter
Melvin Johnson
Deb Luce
Drew MacEachern
Katherine Pollock
Nancy Ross
Provo, UT
Kaysville, UT
Tempe, AZ
Mesquite, NV
Camanche, IA
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Neosho, MO
St. George, UT


Finance Committee

Chair   Ryan Sargent Pocatello, ID
Members   Bill Morain
Dan Whittemore
Lamoni, IA
Denver, CO

Membership Committee

Chair   Sally Cook Roth Overland Park, KS
Members   Kyle Beshears
Katherine Pollock
Mobile, AL
Neosho, MO

Nominating Committee

Chair   Casey Paul Griffiths Saratoga Springs, UT
Members   Seth Bryant
Ellen Miller
Bill Russell
Taunalyn Ford
Kirtland, OH
Lubbock, TX
Lamoni, IA
Draper, UT

Awards Committee

Chair   Eric Rogers Salt Lake City, UT
Members: Book Awards
  John Dinger
Makoto Hunter
Dima Hurlbut
Meridian, ID
Tempe, AZ
Spokane, WA
Members: Article Awards
  Bryce Blankenagel
Julianne Briscoe
Robyn Spears
David Wilson
Lewisburg, PA
Layton, UT
Bentonville, AR
Findlay, OH

Long Range Planning Committee

Chair   Cheryle Grinter

Independence, MO

Social Media Committee

Chair   Magen Edvalson Silverton, OR

Podcast Committee

Chair   Jason Smith Duncan, OK
Members   Magen Edvalson
Makoto Hunter
Rachel Killebrew
Katherine Pollock
Silverton, OR
Tempe, AZ
Independence, MO
Neosho, MO

John Whitmer Historical Association Journal

Editor   Vacant  
Book Review Editor   Newell Bringhurst Visalia, CA
Associate Editor/Copy Editor   Vacant  
Editorial Board   Craig Foster
Matt Harris
Katherine Hill
David Howlett
Melvin Johnson
Rachel Killebrew
Michael Marquardt
Brent Metcalfe
Russell Osmond
William Russell
Mark Scherer
William Shepard
Steven L. Shields
Ryan Tittle
Chrystal Vanel
Clare Vlahos
Layton, UT
Pueblo West, CO
Forrest Grove, OR
Sarasota Springs, NY
Mesquite, NV
Independence, MO
Sandy, UT
Jonesboro, AR
Marietta, GA
Lamoni, IA
Independence, MO
Burlington, WI
Las Vegas, NV
Sumiton, AL
Paris, France
Independence, MO

Restoration Studies Journal

Editor   Katherine Hill Forrest Grove, OR
Editorial Board   Nancy Ross
Steven L. Shields
Randallynn Smith
St George, UT
Las Vegas, NV
Vilseck, Germany

John Whitmer Books

Manager   Seth Bryant Kirtland, OH
Editorial Board   Gary Bergera (2024-2026)
Meredith Carr (2024-2026)
Scott Esplin (2023-2025)
Peter Judd (2022-2024)
Mike Riggs (2022-2024)
Jason Smith (2023-2025)
Salt Lake City, UT
Rising Sun, MD
Provo, UT
Des Moines, IA
Baltimore, MD
Duncan, OK

JWHA Newsletter

Editor   Reed Russell Lee’s Summit, MO

JWHA Leaders Past and Present

On 18 September 1972, fourteen people met in Richard Howard’s home in Independence, Mo., and organized the John Whitmer Historical Association. Those in attendance voted to be independent from the RLDS Church.

During a debate on the name for the new group, Warren Jennings suggested John Whitmer, the first historian of the Latter Day Saint movement. Many found it amusing at first, but after several other suggestions were rejected, the group settled on John Whitmer.

A steering committee of Mark McKiernan, chair and Paul Edwards, Robert Flanders, Barbara Higdon, and Richard Howard developed the framework of the new association.

The first Board of Directors meeting was held 6 January 1973. A constitution was drafted in 1974.

The founding members were Alma Blair, Paul Edwards, Robert Flanders, Barbara Higdon, Richard Howard, Larry Hunt, Warren Jennings, Gerald Kruse, Mark McKiernan, Grant McMurray, Gordon Mesley, William Russell, Geoffrey Spencer, and W.B. “Pat” Spillman.

Many thanks to these visionary people who started a movement!

Past presidents of the organization:

Robert Flanders 1973-74
Alma Blair 1975
Kenneth Stobaugh 1976
Bill Russell 1977
Barbara Higdon 1978
Paul Edwards 1979
Clare Vlahos 1980
Grant McMurray 1981
Tom Morain 1982
Norma Hiles 1983
Paul Edwards 1984
Richard Howard 1985
Wayne Ham 1986
Robert Mesle 1987
Linda Newell 1988
Maurice Draper 1989-1990
Roger Launius 1991-1992
Lee Pement 1993-1994
Jessie Embry 1995-1996
Danny Jorgensen 1996-1997
Ron Romig 1997-1998
Barbara Bernauer 1998-1999
Ed Warner 1999-2000
Alma Blair 2000-2001
Mike Riggs 2001-2002
Billie Young 2002-2003
Mark Scherer 2003-2004
Jan Shipps 2004-2005
Newell Bringhurst 2005-2006
Alex Baugh 2006-2007
Barbara Walden 2007-2008
Bill Shepard 2008-2009
Jeanne Murphey 2009-2010
John Hamer 2010-2011
Steve Shields 2011-2012
R. Jean Addams 2012-2013
Lachlan Mackay 2013-2014
Erin B. Metcalfe 2014-2015
Brian C. Hales 2015-2016
Peter Judd 2016-2017
Sherry Mesle-Morain 2017-2018
Rachel Killebrew 2018-2019
Jill Brim 2019-2021
Christin Mackay 2021-2022
Casey Paul Griffiths 2022-2023

In addition to the presidents, many people have served on the board of directors, edited the Journal, and helped on committees.

Thanks also to past officers and executive directors.

JWHA has come a long way since. William D. Russell expressed this hope in a 1972 Courage article, “The organization of such a society has been sought by a number of people interested in Latter Day Saint history for a long time.

“Let’s hope that the dream is about to be realized.” The current state of JWHA shows that the dream is coming true.