In September, the JWHA book and article award committees announced the 2023 book and article award recipients at our conference in Fredericksburg, Texas. Click here to find options for viewing a recording. Our award recipients are:

  • Smith-Pettit Best Book
    Heather Belnap, Corry Cropper, and Daryl Lee, Marianne Meets the Mormons: Representations of Mormonism in Nineteenth-Century France (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2022).
  • Whittemore Best Documentary History
    Todd M. Compton, In Sacred Loneliness: The Documents (Salt Lake City: Signature Books, 2022).
  • Best Anthology
    Christine Elyse Blythe, Christopher James Blythe, and Jay Burton, eds., Open Canon: Scriptures of the Latter Day Saint Tradition (Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 2022).
  • Greg Kofford Best Historical Article
    Brooke R. LeFevre, “‘Schisms, Like Revolutions, Never Go Backwards’: The Godbeites, the Cullom Bill, and the Anti-Polygamy Debate,” John Whitmer Historical Association Journal 42, no. 1 (Spring/Summer 2022): 61-76.
  • Suzanne Geisner & Jerry Mogg Best Theological Article
    Thomas W. Murphy, “An Insufficient Canon: The Popul Wuj, Book of Mormon, and Other Scriptures,” Journal of Mormon History 48, no. 3 (July 2022): 71-98.

These awards were made possible by the generosity of the Smith-Pettit Foundation, Dan and Beth Whittemore, Megan Stanton, Greg and Cynthia Kofford, Jerry and Sandra Mogg, and Joe Geisner and the late Suzanne Geisner. Their support of JWHA enables us to honor strong scholarship each year. Thank you to our sponsors.

Congratulations to our 2023 award recipients!