The books and articles scholarship for 2019 was another spectacular year.  The Book Awards Committee considered eleven books in four categories, and the Article Awards Committee considered eighteen articles for two categories. This was a very competitive process with excellent scholarship in each category.  The two awards committees worked very hard with lots of discussion as they considered each work in category. Ultimately, they made their decision and voted; we then celebrated the awards at the annual awards banquet at the Friday lunch.

Best Book Awards:

Mark Ashurst-McGee, Robin Jensen, and Sharalyn D. Howcroft have been selected as a recipient of the Metcalfe Best Anthology Book Award for Foundational Texts of Mormonism (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018).

Gary J. Bergera has been selected as the recipient of the Whittemore Best Documentary History Book Award for Confessions of a Mormon Historian: The Diaries of Leonard J. Arrington,1971–1999, ed. Gary J. Bergera (Salt Lake City: Signature Books, 2018).

Daniel P. Stone has been selected as the recipient of the Brim Best Biography Book Award for William Bickerton: Forgotten Latter Day Prophet (Salt Lake City: Signature Books, 2018).

Scott C. Esplin has been selected as the recipient of the Smith-Pettit Best Book Award for Return to the City of Joseph (Champaign: University of Illinois Press, 2018).

Best Article Awards:

John S. Dinger has been selected as the recipient of the Greg Kofford Best Historical Article Award for “Sexual Slander and Polygamy in Nauvoo,” Journal of Mormon History 44 no. 3 (2018): 1–22.

Todd Compton has been selected as the recipient of the Mogg & Geisner Best Theological Article Award for “‘Prominent among the Apostles:’ Women, Priesthood, and Position in the New Testament,” Restoration Studies 19 (2018): 181–214.

We would like to thank our wonderful sponsors, the authors, the awards committee members, and the publishers. In preparation for next year, if you’d like to recommend an article or book to the committee, please submit your nominations to Articles and Awards for 2020 JWHA awards consideration must be published during the 2019 calendar year, and recommended to the committee by June 1, 2020.

Thank you,

Joe Geisner
Awards Committee Chair